ATLANTA (April 17, 2017)  |  Sen. Blake Tillery (R – Vidalia) announced today that Jeff Davis Elementary School, J.R. Trippe Middle School in Vidalia, Montgomery County Elementary School, Montgomery County Middle School, and Bacon Elementary School in Wayne County, all in Senate District 19, are being removed from the Priority and Focus Schools list.

“We very often say how teaching is a calling, not just a job,” said Sen. Tillery. “I’m so proud to see the time, energy and work of the fine teachers and staff at these schools being rewarded in such a significant way. They give so much to our students and I’m glad their efforts are recognized. This just goes to show how much our schools, teachers and staff really care about improving the lives of their students.”

The Priority Schools list identifies the lowest performing five percent of Title I schools and the Focus list represents the lowest performing 10 percent of Title I schools in Georgia. The five District 19 schools are exiting the Focus Schools list and are part of the 74 schools statewide who have met the required improvements to be removed. The lists were created to identify the lowest performing schools in Georgia, based on achievement data, graduation rates below the state average and how long these schools have been underperforming. The state offers additional help to teachers and school staff at Priority and Focus Schools to ensure students are meeting educational goals.